What our customers say about us...

July 2020, "The staff at Derek Slack were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. They assisted greatly in looking at my chosen used Škoda, walking me through the finance process and getting the car ready and in perfect condition on the day I was to pick it up. I would highly recommend purchasing from Derek Slack, and I know I'll be back when it's time for a new car"

- Mr G, Bowburn, Durham

July 20, "Great car, great service!, Car was in great condition and nice and clean when I bought it and they were great at answering my questions"

- Mr D, Wolsingham, Bishop Auckland

July 20, "I purchased a Skoda Octovia VRS and the customer services could not of been any better. Richard went through everything from the functions of the car to the sales process thoroughly. The car was fully prepared and absolutely went above and beyond to ensure the car was perfect for when I collected the vehicle, nothing was an issue that Richard couldn't sort out for me. The customer service was so good my partner is wanting to go back to purchase a skoda fabia. What is nice is to be able to go to a dealership and browse their vehicle selection without the pressure of purchasing but they are there if you have any questions."

- Mr M, Richmond

July 20, "Polite, professional and accommodating from start to finish. Derek Slack Motors were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Fantastic service!"

- Mr P, Shotton Colliery, Durham

July 20, "Spot on, good job, 5*'s, Excellent service"

- Mrs E, Northallerton

July 20, "Has to be the easiest and best experience I have ever had buying a car and is the best garage I've ever been to! Amazing helpful staff, going above and beyond in all aspects of my experience. Would definitely return and buy another vehicle"

- Mr H, Billingham

July 20, "Excellent service & fantastic choice. Prices are fair in the market place. Definitely recommend. 5 stars."

- Mrs P, Harrogate

July 20, "Booked an appointment, turned up & was seen basically straight away, shown to the car, was allowed to take it for a test drive, we had to follow the salesman in his own car, got back to the garage shown to a safe area and did the deal, there was enough sanitiser, did not feel to strange, obviously not the same as normal, no tea or coffee. Got an appointment to pick the car up and that was all smooth so all good"

- Mrs C, Saltburn by the Sea

June 20, "Friendly, non-pushy advice. Excellent service and time given by salesman - answered all questions and was reassuring. Safe system for test-driving. First car - very satisfied customer who still has huge grin!"

- Ms G, West Rounton, North Yorkshire

June 20, "Very helpful what more can a customer want definitely come back if I need another car"

- Mrs M, Bradford

June 20, "Purchased a Skoda Octavia and the customer service couldn’t of been any better. Richard went through everything with us from the functions of the car to the sales process thoroughly. The car was was fully prepared for us to take away at a date that suited us and nothing was an issue that Richard couldn’t sort out for us. I’m going back to purchase a Skoda fabia at a later date for myself purely on how well they look after you. It’s so nice to see a car dealership that you can have a walk around and not be hounded. Fully recommend even if just shopping around"

- Ms G, Catterick

June 20, "Hi, just wanted to drop a line to thank Tony and especially Andy Fowle for the remarkable job that you did in getting the car we were looking for. Even coming out of the Covid-19 restrictions you managed to turn around, what we now know to be a fantastic Kamiq. Totally professional and completely courteous with a demanding customer... Thanks once again."

- Mr & Mrs C, Middlesbrough

June 20, "The sales manager Andrew Fowle was first class. Not a typical sales manager that usually play clever games. He was very honest, patient and informational. The overall buying experience was excellent even though I had a very long delay due to Covid-19. This is my first Skoda and I am very happy so far that I left Nissan after many years. What more can I say, a great salesman and a great human being. He provided me with a great deal and went the extra mile to make sure I got my car as soon as physically possible. There was restrictions due to the situation but these were clearly presented to me. It was a pleasure doing this deal with a real honest person"  

- Mr S, Stockton on Tees

June 20, "Excellent service from ordering car online due to pandemic. When we collected car showroom was open and it all felt very safe and staff were very helpful and friendly."

- Miss M, Nunthorpe

June 20, "Thanks to everyone at Derek Slacks for a no pressure type experience and a great deal which was put together for me. Will admit I have had three Yeti's and when I took delivery of a Kamiq, I really wanted my Yeti back, but after getting use to it, I am really happy with the Kamiq"

- Mr G, Whitby

May 20, "My Octavia is my living, thanks guys for replacing the ignition switch when everywhere else was shut, bit of a trip but worth it"

- Mr J, Newcastle

May 20, "I rely on my car for work (essential worker) as I do a round trip of 80 miles a day, I needed a Service & a few repairs & couldnt get them done locally so Skoda directed me to Derek Slacks in Middlesbrough....friendly & efficient, big well done for being open when really really needed, thanks so much, you'll see us again"

- Mr & Mrs S, Harrogate

May 20, "Leaf spring replaced on my Isuzu which I need constantly, I'm a farmer, great lads"

- Mr F, Lanchester

May 20, "Dropped the car for a service and I was contacted and advised of small things which may need doing in the future - updated throughout and the car was returned washed and valeted - such a lovely surprise."

- Ms B, Catterick

May 20, "Keep up the good work - sales staff genuinely interested and helpful, reception friendly and thoughtful, service staff excellent workmanship"

- Mrs B, Shincliffe, Durham

May 20, "From first enquiring about the car through the sale and now the service; the staff at Derek slack cannot be more helpful, courteous, interested, caring and friendly. Nothing is a daft question or request and just genuinely nice people."

- Mr & Mrs S, Richmond

April 20, "Just a note to say thanks for the excellent, fast and efficient service on my Octavia over the last week. I really appreciate it in these difficult times"

- Mr B, Acklam

April 20, "I would like to write and compliment you on the service I have received from your garage. As we all know we are currently in the middle of the Covid19 pandemic which is having a major impact on our daily lives. I am a key worker and experienced a fault on my Skoda vehicle, the engine management light came on and  the engine lost a lot of power. My car is my only means to get me to and from work as I work shifts and was devastated to encounter a problem at this difficult time. I contacted you via email expecting to get an automated reply saying you were closed, to my surprise and delight your service manager phoned me back explaining that you were still doing a small amount of repair work only for key workers and we made an appointment for me to bring my car in to get looked at and repaired. Despite the disruption to the supply of parts etc due to the Coronavirus, my car was back with me fully repaired in a very short space of time. I can't express how much I valued this level of service along with the professionalism and friendliness of your staff, namely the Service Manager Chris and your Service Advisor Jess. By providing this emergency service for Key Workers you saved me from a lot of stress and hassle, and allowed me to keep on working. Once again thank you very much and please pass on my gratitude to Chris and Jess who are a credit to your organisation."

- Mr I, Coulby Newham

April 20, "I had my Skoda Karoq repaired and serviced yesterday and I would like to say the service I received was excellent as always is the case and to make sure my service record stays secure I purchased a 5 year service plan paying monthly, my car was washed before being handed back to me and your staff were both courteous and helpful I will recommend you to all my friends and acquaintances. Once again thank you for your high standard especially at the moment"

- Mr T, Eston, Middlesbrough

April 20, "Couldn't fault anything at all, car collected on time & returned on time, work completed correctly, staff excellent & well done to Slacks for staying open during the present times when many garages are closing"

- Mr W, Guisborough

March 20, "Exactly the right car was recommended to me, at the right price and without pressure, Professional and thorough"

- Mrs H, Stockton on Tees

March 20, "My second new car from Derek Slacks and again a friendly, effortless and professional experience. All the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming and offer a much appreciated personal service. It is obvious from the time you walk into the showroom, that this is a customer focused Family business"

- Mr T, Stockton on Tees

March 20, "Really good service especially in the circumstances salesman was terrific"

- Mrs C, Peterlee

March 20, "A fantastic dealership you always feel that you are the only person that matters, no pressure to buy, cars are impeccable, thanks a very pleasant experience"

- Mr M, Middlesbrough

March 20, "Brilliant! Friendly efficient service, good timely communications! bought one year old ŠKODA Octavia Estate, delivered car and took mine away. And the car, I couldn’t be more pleased, grinning from ear to ear!!"

- Mr J, Sharperton, Morpeth

March 20, "Ian, Got the car and looks great thank you. Pleased it’s got proper tyres on and not same cheapo rubbish. Can’t see the mark on it you mentioned either. Just wanted to say it’s been a pleasure dealing with you and please show your boss this as I’ve dealt with many people in the motor trade over the years and you’ve been right up the top. Not had a chance to drive it yet and won’t for a few days."

- Mr B, Potters Bar, Hertfordshire

March 20, "Dear Sirs, I should like to record my appreciation to all your staff, in particular to customer services and the workshop, for the work which you did on  my Roomster last Friday, it's like a new car again"

- Reverend P, Lingdale

March 20, "Staff were very friendly, very informative, everything was explained easily, good place to buy a car"

- Mr C, Bishop Auckland

March 20, "A great friendly experience, very helpful, no pressure sales just very helpful giving good advice and listening to what you want"

- Mr C, Washington

March 20, "I received top rate service from Derek Slack Motors, including a test drive and detailed help with driving the car, which is different from my previous cars. Everything was fast-tracked for me because I needed the car urgently. It is a used skoda in pristine condition. The staff could not have been more helpful, and were pleasant, friendly, patient and good-humoured. Do I recommend them? Absolutely! Don't hesitate, go and check them out"

- Ms P, Ripley, Harrogate

March 20, "Just to say a really big thank you to derek slack motors and George in particular for all your help over the last week and literally 'going the extra mile.' George was endlessly good natured and patient. The car is great (so far!). You've made a huge difference to how I'll be able to get through this crisis. Even without the crisis I would be delighted but crisis makes it many times more"

- Ms G, Eaglesciffe

March 20, "I have been a customer of Derek Slacks for the past 16 years and they have always provided excellent, friendly service. Very fair part exchange value for my old car and I am extremely happy with my new vehicle, I highly recommend"

- Mrs R, Great Ayton

March 20, "Couldn't have been better, the salesman we talked to was extremely helpful, organising a test drive at short notice as we had travelled a distance, and then later managing to get the car serviced and ready early before we were stuck in lockdown! What a star"

- Mrs M, Flaxby, Knaresborough

March 20, "Hi Andrew, Many thanks for your service and assistance in getting our beautiful Kamiq. To say we are pleased, would be an understatement; what a car. I have completed the survey in glowing terms; however, I may have added an “ r” to your surname, apologies. I hope with all the issues regarding health etc that you and your wife and children are well. Many thanks and we are so happy to be back in the Skoda family with Derek Slacks"

- Mr & Mrs W, Darlington

March 20, "Dear Richard, Absolutely LOVE this car, but still getting my head round it...........it's an age thing you know. We hope Tony and Andy realise how happy we are, as we really needed a lift..............life has been totally crap for a year now and this is more than a car to us. It is a new positive start, thanks to you and Andy, take care"

- Mr T, Teesside

March 20, "Hi Richard, we cannot thank you enough for your attentive and excellent service. In our book you are a top man and Slacks are extremely fortunate to have you on their payroll. Many, many thanks again and so sorry for taking up so much of your time. Now very proud owners of a brilliant new Karoq".

- Mr & Mrs T, Stockton on Tees

February 20, "Recent purchase of 2015 plate Skoda Yeti. We travelled a hundred miles to this dealership and were very impressed with the service we received from salesman.The only drawback was when we collected the vehicle the following week, the valeting was pretty poor, unfortunately this was out of salesman's control (as it was a Sunday and limited staff and we had to take the vehicle then). Other than that we have no complaints. Had to check a few minor details with staff in following week and they were all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return"

- Mrs T, Hull, North Humberside

February 20, "Great experience sales team not pushy at all offered us the car we wanted at a price we could afford and got good deal on the px .after sales service was good the one small problem we had was quickly addressed, Made to feel welcome not pushed into anything unwanted"  

- Mr D, Redcar

February 20, "Real family feel. They were straight forward and easy to deal with, there was no pressure and certainly not what I expected from a car dealership. I felt totally in control of my purchase and didn't feel at any point that they were trying to sell me anything,more just advising me. When I got home and realised there was an internal light out the after care has been fantastic too. Really family feel to the showroom, I had my 3 year old with me and they made him feel welcome, included him and got him an activity book."

- Miss N, Hartlepool

February 20, "From the get go the sales executive was extremely polite, patient and understanding. I was very happy with his service and he deserves rewarding for it. Impeccable customer service experience."

- Miss S, Saltburn by the Sea

February 20, "Good friendly helpful service. Very efficient and knowledgeable"

- Mr R, Richmond, North Yorkshire

February 20, "Highly Recommended Excellent Service. The salesman was experienced, knowledgeable and listened to, and was interested in, what I required in a car. There were various cars that were of interest, before I decided on the one I wanted to test drive. The buying process was very relaxed and not at all pressurised. All the staff in the showroom were very pleasant and helpful and I recommend Derek Slack Motors without hesitation"

- Mrs M, Hemlington

February 20, "We were looking for a specific make and model of car (Skoda Yeti) and discovered it at this dealership being advertised at a competitive price. We found the staff to be very helpful and not at all 'high pressure sales people'! We were given a years warranty and a full MOT. Moreover we gained an extra year of warranty by using Skoda Finance. Very happy with the car so far [one week in]!"

- Mr & Mrs C, Linthorpe

February 20, "Very professional, informative, reliable and true to their word, love our new Karoq"

- Mr R, Leeds

February 2020, "Good service, very helpful and quick service, went in on the Sunday and picked a car and had it on the Monday evening"

- Mr K, Great Ayton

February 20, "A pleasure to deal with this family firm!, Professional, friendly, knowledgable and no pressure. We were given time to inspect in detail the cars we were interested in, and were offered a very fair part exchange deal. Very impressed with Skoda, and the personal attention from this family firm. The whole process of changing cars was swift and straightforward"

- Mr D, Saltburn by the Sea

January 20, "Just collected new Fabia, great service, good price, helpful and friendly, as usual"

- Mr & Mrs N, Nunthorpe

January 20, "Staff were amazing, really helpful. Sat and talk me through every little detail. Kept me up to date with my car. Would highly recommend, Amazing Experience"

- Miss R, Billingham

January 20, "Hi Bradley, I love my new Kodiaq. I actually enjoy driving it and I have even driven it at night which I avoided with the Ford Edge as I couldn’t see the road as the headlights were awful. I don’t think I will buy any other make of car now, I know I trust Skoda. I didn’t want my last car my hubby did, I would have happily kept my Octavia"

- Mrs T, Redcar

January 20, "After seeing a well priced Corsa I was apprehensive being 250 miles from the dealer, upon making the enquiry I was assured that the car would go through the same pre sales process as their Skoda vehicles. I took delivery of the car today and so far so good, like buying from main dealer.....serviced, MOT, new tyres and filters. I would like to thank the team at Derek Slack Motors for making the buying experience so easy and would totally recommend....thank you"

- Miss W, Wokingham Berkshire

January 20, "My wife and I arrived at Derek Slack Motors to view used Skoda cars we looked round and nobody was on our shoulder pushing to sell which we found refreshing when we did find the vehicle we wanted the salesman (Jed) was on hand to describe the car and take out for test drive we ended up purchasing (Skoda Yeti) and took delivery a few davs later and it was prepared to a very high standard, all in all a very easy experience and would recommend this company to anyone, really impressed"

- Mr & Mrs M, Morton on Swale

January 20, "Very friendly atmosphere in showroom. All the staff very professional and welcoming. Overall a nice experience"

- Mr W, Billingham

January 20, "Very helpful and friendly staff. I felt welcomed and well looked after from the initial appointment to receiving my car. Everything was explained in terms and manners I understood and no complicated jargon was used; I feel this is very important for those, and myself, who are not as familiar with car terminology and finance options. Showroom was spotless and very well presented. Throughout the whole process I was kept uptodate with regular contact via phone and email. Very good experience as a whole and will be returning in future"

- Ms W, Middlesbrough

January 20, "100% Positive Experience, I would have no hesitation in recommending the sales team at Derek Slack Motors. They were very professional and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The salesman I dealt with took the time to answer all my questions and had a very calm, honest, non-aggressive approach. He went way beyond the call of duty in dealing with the paperwork"

- Mr B, Great Ayton

January 20, "We were met by the sales executive Tom, who was very well mannered and very professional we were made so welcome he explained everything that we needed to know about purchasing the vehicle which we wanted, we had a coffee and a chat and me and my wife were very happy with our purchase the service we got was 100% plus, thanks ever so much for your friendly professional service"

- Mr & Mrs H, Redcar

January 20, "From start to finish we were made to feel like we were important and valued. Andy stayed late to talk us through all our options and did not put any pressure on to make a decision. Every other member of staff we came across was friendly and professional and were would not hesitate to recommend Derek Slacks to anybody"

- Mrs M, Linthorpe

December 19, "I was welcomed on the forecourt of Derek Slack Motors, and from that first moment, felt that I would receive a good and personal level of service. Jed helped me to choose the size and style of car I needed, but I made the ultimate choice, and knew that I had made the right choice in engine, model and colour. I was also pleasantly surprised at the many choices available. A test drive was great, as Jed demonstrated how to handle the gear change to get optimum power out of this small but nippy car. This was important, as I was changing from a two seater high powered coupe and had concerns at driving a Skoda. As I left the showroom, I felt I had bought wisely, but when I retrospectively looked at the Citigo Colour reviews, I KNEW I had bought well. I picked up my new car today. Jed explained its features in detail, and I drove away in this nippy little number....and I love it!"    

- Mrs B, Redcar

December 19, "Brilliant dealer, I would go out of my way to try to use Derek Slack Motors again after this experience. I arranged the purchase of this car over the phone/email as I live 5+ hrs from the dealership so it was important to be sure all was as it seemed before I made the long journey from the north of Scotland. Excellent and straightforward to deal with, the car was as I expected when I arrived, good attention to detail. I was kept up to date as the car went through its servicing and MOT. Great service from all the staff when I went to collect the car. I would definitely use this dealership again, very pleased with my Octavia Scout and the service received. Well worth the long journey to deal with a reputable garage. Would highly recommend"

- Dr M, Aberdeen

December 19, "What a wonderful experience, very warm and friendly staff, new Citigo is great"

- Ms W, Billingham

December 19, "Very friendly and down to earth salesman. Not pushy at all. Nothing was a problem for george and he was very personable. George spent a lot of time with me making sure I had all info I needed. He promptly replied to emails and informed me of updates on the car as soon as he received them. He made both me and my husband feel very well looked after in the purchase of our recent cars. I returned to Derek Slack precisely because of the way George and the other staff treat my husband while he was buying his Fabia and was pleased to find I also received excellent service-warm and friendly people that seemed very genuine. Please continue this as it is very rare in dealerships these days!"

- Mrs B, Billingham

December 19, "This was a stressful time for me not having done this before, but Ian at Derek Slack made the experience simple and straightforward. I got good service and a nice little car from them. I would certainly recommend Derek Slack"

- Ms W, Middlesbrough

December 19, "On arrival there was was not the usual pressure experienced from other showrooms. We were given the appropriate space and time to browse and look. It was only then that we were approached by a sales person. His approach was not to sell but to help us discover features associated with the vehicles we were looking at. He asked if we needed any further advice an we said no, not at the moment. He left us to browse and returned 10 minutes later. This was the beginning of a partnership which bared fruit for both parties. At no time did we feel pressured to make decisions. Great emphasis was mentioned that this is a family business who take great pride in their customer support and relations. All staff we met were friendly and willing to talk. At no point were we pressured into making choices that were to their benefit, not ours. Help and advice at the purchase desk was first class. Communication was faultless, from calculating finance, insurance, vehicle exchange and delivery. Very impressed"

- Mr & Mrs J, Stainton

December 19, "Very helpful nothing was to much trouble, Tom and the rest of the staff brilliant, would highly recommend Derek Slack Motors"

- Mr J, Middlesbrough

December 19, "Professional, friendly service. Very happy with new Kamiq"

- Mr & Mrs W, Ingelby Barwick

December 19, "My experience with Derek Slack Motors was excellent from start to finish. From the moment I walked in, I was treated with respect. The sales executive Tom was very informative about a range of vehicles that I enquired about and showed a lot of patience with me as it took a little longer than usual to decide which car was for me. He answered every question thoroughly and was courteous throughout. I was offered the chance of several test drives to ensure I made the correct decision and at no point did i feel rushed into making a decision. Again, the sales executive was very informative whilst on test drives and was clearly very knowledgeable about the products. I would definitely recommend using this retailer to family and friends, and I look forward to using them again myself!"

- Mr P, Teesside

December 19, "Excellent services from 1st visit to showroom, family member had bought from Derek Slack Motors before and had said how good the service was, no pressure when viewing car and only in the showroom a short time when I went to pick the car up after purchasing, would remmend, well done"      

- Mr R, Guisborough

December 19, "Dear Bradley, thank you for making the process so easy and an actual pleasure. I have bought several new cars over the years and the buying experience has usually been spoiled by high pressure sales tactics, which I have in the past walked away from. I appreciate customers can be a pain and that we are all different, but from my perspective, your approach was perfect and I have no hesitation in recommending both you and Derek Slack Motors to family and friends. I have left positive reviews on both DSM and Autotrader sites. Thanks again and kindest regards"

- Mr S, Ferryhill, County Durham

December 19, "I have two friends who bought cars from this garage and are very happy with them, as I was thinking about renewing my car I thought I would have a look at what they had on offer. Very good choice of vehicles used and new and left to browse on my own. When I needed help, staff where available. The member of staff who helped me select and purchase a car was one of the Sale team, Bradley. He was courteous, had patients and very helpful in my final decision.He explained and demonstrated what all the controls were for in the car and slowly took me through all the documentation that needs to be filled in to complete the sale. Other members of staff were also courteous offering their support if need with anything in the future. Very pleased with my new Karoq"

- Mr B, Brotton

November 19, "Professional, friendly service from all the staff at Derek Slacks. Staff answered all my questions and took care of everything regarding our sale - highly recommended"

- Ms B, London

November 19, "Came to buy a new car and were served by Jed who we have dealt with on each occassion we have changed cars, he is excellent, helpful, thorough and kind, a real asset to Skoda and Derek Slacks"

- Ms S, Fairfield

November 19, "We did a lot of research on the vehicle we would buy and the superb came out tops. After our initial visit to Derek Slacks we were very impressed by the staff. We then viisited another local Skoda dealer and their staff were useless. Hence why we went back to derek slacks. Richard was very helpful and polite. He helped us to the best of his capability and advised us all the time of the progress of our car. He was also very knowledgable in relation to Motorbility"

- Mr R, Billingham

November 19, "Recently bought a new Karoq from Derek Slack Motors and where asked what was memorable?, answer,  we dealt with Ian Phillips, his warmth, honesty and efficiency throughout our car contract purchase and his excellent communications throughout"  

- Mr & Mrs H, Coulby Newham

November 19, "Great service as always from selling us our new Kodiaq to looking after it for us. Recommended highly."

- Mr & Mrs T, Hartlepool

November 19, "Honest description of car which was really important as this was a distance sale. Great service from Tom who collected me from the airport, answered all queries and couldn’t do enough. Great service & very Honest."

- Mr C, County Wicklow, Ireland

October 19, "Just collected our new Fabia Colour Edition, the team were brilliant from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble, I would definitely recommend Derek Slack Motors to anyone looking to buy a car."

- Mr & Mrs P, Darlington

October 19, "Absolutely brilliant! The salesman, Tom was brilliant and sorted everything out, all I had to do is turn up with the paperwork for the car i was part exchanging. I would highly recommend this dealership and I will probably go back for my next car after this one"

- Mr L, Whitby, North Yorkshire

October 19, "Hi Ian, I must admit you have been the best car sales person we have meet over the number of years we have bought cars. We have normally bought the car out right but your explanation of the PCP was easy to understand, big thanks."

- Mr & Mrs S, Wynyard

October 19, "As a previous customer of this dealership, I received a mail shot which was of interest to me as the lease agreement on my current Octavia was due to expire shortly. After a couple of discussions, I settled on a nearly new similar vehicle with 103 miles , which appears to be as good as new. They worked out a PCP deal for me which, after a bit of financial fine tuning, was acceptable. At no time did I feel I was under any pressure to complete a deal. Everything went very smoothly, and I would recommend this dealership to anyone."

- Mrs A, Stokesley

October 19, "Having bought two other Skoda's from Derek Slacks over five years I knew what to expect. Staff who are non pushy at all, while being very helpful The car was described exactly as it is I didn't need to take the vehicle for a test drive because thats how much I trust the garage, they only ever have sold good decent honest cars to myself and the people I know that have bought cars from them everything is open and honest with the feeling that all the staff care about the brand and about their customers."

- Mr & Mrs A, Yarm

October 19, "From beginning to end the team at Derek Slacks were fantastic.They were fantastic and explained everything in a clear and concise manner. They were very personable and I got a great deal on my new Fabia as a result."

- Mr C, Redcar

October 19, "Our salesman, George, was a great salesman who made us feel welcome and explained the process very well. My wife is very satisfied with her new Kodiaq"

- Mr R, Yarm

October 19, "I had previously driven Skoda Octavia's for the NHS and found them comfortable and reliable. The salesman Ian was very helpful with test drives of an SUV and the Octavia's. I chose a 1.5 petrol Octavia automatic. The showroom is well laid out and the receptionist was also very helpful. I would recommend the dealership to anyone who is looking for a car."

- Mr A, Marton

October 19, "Hello George, I just wanted to say thank you for taking me through the final paperwork for the purchase of the car today, (for the first time on my own).  Like Richard Goodyear you and all the staff were friendly and helpful and made the whole process easy and even enjoyable. I am 73, so my husband and I, over the years, have purchased many cars and visited many car showrooms, but we have never had the "Derek Slack Experience", it was a revelation and a master class in how to treat a prospective purchaser. I thought you might like to know how I managed driving an automatic back to Sedgefield.  I turned right at your road end and drove it a little on the quiet road, then 'sweating on the top line' I attempted the roundabout.  My confidence soon returned as the car was superb and I 'bombed' home it was a great ride, so smooth, really pleased with the car. I would be grateful if you pass this email on to your Managing Director Mr Tony Slack. Kind regards to you and Richard and all the staff at Derek Slack "  

- Mrs T, Sedgefield

October 19, "Just collected my new Fiesta, everyone was so helpful and well informed, the whole process was easy and stress free and I am very happy with my purchase, wouldnt hesitate to recommend"    

- Mrs P, Linthorpe

October 19, "At first I wasn't sure the map update had worked as when I plugged my Citigo PID into the PC it showed the map version as Q3 2015, so no change, however after fiddling about I found on the device itself the map was shown as Q2 2019. Perfect. I suppose because you downloaded the new maps on your PC, mine didn't know that. Thank you very much Lauren, well done, happy again"

- Mr M, Stockton on Tees

October 19, "Purchased a new Fabia Monte Carlo - Quick, personal and very professional - in other words: it was a fantastic experience!"

- Dr O, Hutton Rudby, North Yorkshire

October 19, "Fantastic personal experience - they made the whole daunting task of buying a car so smooth and did not pressure us at all, made us welcome and even provided courtesy car while waiting for new Kodiaq to arrive!"

- Mr T, South Hetton, Durham

Sept 19, "Just collected our new Scala, wouldnt go anywhere else to buy a new car, excellent service"

- Mr & Mrs W, Brotton

Sept 19, "We’ve been looking at several different SUV vehicles and doing lots of research. We had visited other garages but we found Derek Slack Motors exceptionally helpful and had a fantastic range of vehicles that we were interested in. Our new Karoq is superb and everything we were looking for, thank you"

- Mr & Mrs M, Marton

Sept 19, "Dear Andy, I would like to say how impressed I am with your dealership, it’s non pushy and your sales executive Bradley is excellent, he’s really knowledgeable about the cars in a way you don’t always find at other dealers and very patient too. I sort of feel a little guilty at wasting your time but as I said I do like the cars and feel even more impressed with Skodas (all models) than I expected and will return when my situation changes,"

- Mr W, Yarm

Sept 19, "Dear Jess, Thank you to all concerned for the excellent service as usual that I received on Wednesday 11th, the car was sorted with new tyres while I waited and I was looked after by you and offered coffee, many thanks to all"

- Mrs D, Acklam

Sept 19, "I live in Cambridge and went into Cambridge Skoda a number of times and they were helpful if I wanted a new car but very poor on used cars, they could have looked and found us a Kodiaq but they didn't so we travelled to Middlesbrough & bought one there. I think Derek Slacks have been good, could have been slightly better but they have been good!, they delivered the Kodiaq to us here in Huntingdon."

- Mr R, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire

Sept 19, "I honestly can say Ian and the dealership as a whole could not do anything to improve the excellent customer care and service provided. I have not stopped telling people about how refreshing it was to be treat as a person not just a sale. Derek Slack Motors is a credit to the Skoda brand"

- Mr B, Richmond

Sept 19, "Went to Derek Slack Motors after spotting a car on their website. Checked it out and was impressed by the quality of service and friendliness received! Our assistant, Richard was really helpful and well informed. Both he and his manager ensured that we came away with a good deal!"

- Mr S, Ingleby Barwick

August 19, "Just collected my new Karoq, George was very friendly, put me at ease when buying my new car which was quite daunting, he took time to interact with my children too and had lots of patience with them, great experience"

- Miss W, Stockton on Tees

August 19, "Hi Tony, thank you so much for organising our new Kodiaq and making it happen. Once again, we find that the service which Derek Slacks offers is exemplary, especially as our requirements were very specific. We are delighted with our new car, and are already looking forward to placing an order for a Kodiaq VRS in a few years time! It was well worth the 1000 mile round trip from Harris to Middlesbrough, and we have no doubt that we will make it again in the future ... unless you fancy popping up and delivering our next car personally (we can put you up and give you some time to explore our beautiful island - that’s a serious offer). Thank you once again for a smooth purchase and in continuing to delight two very happy, and satisfied, customers. All credit to you and the team."

- Mr & Mrs L, Isle of Harris, Outer Hebrides, Scotland

August 19, "I can not praise Ian enough for his customer service, patience and overall customer care, he listened and advised us on our needs and I will recommend on his service alone. The new Karoq is perfect, thank you"

- Mrs M, Thorpe Larches, Stockton on Tees

August 19, "Just collected my new Octavia vRS from Derek Slack Motors, been dealing with Thomas Ley who is an asset to the company, no pressure whatsoever, he went over and beyond-even text me on his day off on the progress of my vehicle. I would certainly buy from them again and would definetly recommend to my family and friends"

- Mr H, Great Ayton

August 2019, "First class as always. I've been a customer of Derek Slack's since 2003 (4 cars) and they've always been the best Dealer I have ever used which is why they were my first choice for my latest car. There's no "hard sell" tactics, the staff are always friendly and the car was prepared beautifully. I'd happily recommend them to anyone looking for a new or used car".

- Mr H, Hartlepool

August 19, " Derek Slacks team were 1st class from first phone call to collecting the car. I would like to thank Tom & Andy in particular for making the whole process easy. Would recommend them highly if your thinking of a new car, thanks a lot I'm now enjoying my my new Skoda Octavia & would definitely buy from Derek Slacks again, cheers"  

- Mr A, Hartlepool

July 2019 “I was so impressed by the staff at your branch. I chose to come to you as I have been less than impressed with the service I have received from another Škoda dealership. Your staff were all a breath of fresh air, thank you all”

- Mrs A, Whitby

July 2019, "I was very satisfied with my experience purchasing a new Fabia and had no problems throughout. The team were always attentive to me, offering beverages, comfortable seating etc. The shop floor is the best looking dealership in my area and makes you feel right at home. The sales team were extremely good at listening and always explained my options clearly. Overall I am very happy with my new Skoda Fabia and I feel I got a very good deal"

- Mrs S, Shincliffe, County Durham

June 19, Posted on the Yeti owners forum. Titled; Dealer and Brand Loyalty. "We bought our first Skoda from Derek Slack Motors in Middlesbrough in 2011 and have just bought our fourth from them. I've driven or owned Skodas for 15 years and have always liked their build quality, reliability and technical features. Because our dealer has been so good in every way - friendly and un-pushy sales staff, great service facilities, comfortable and modern showrooms and so on - there was no possibility of changing brands or dealers, particularly on reading about the bad service some forum members have received from other Skoda dealers, as well as reading on the Internet about problems with other makes and dealers.  It is my belief that because the company is family-owned and run, rather than being part of a chain, this has resulted in such an excellent all-round service.  As some Yeti forum members may remember, we have been vacillating about whether or not to change our diesel-engine Yeti for another model. I think that the final decision was made for us when I considered the long term reliability of the Yeti if we kept it for some years, because of our low annual mileage and hence the potential weakness of some of the components.  The Karoq is closest in size to the Yeti and with all the later features of a newer model, that was our choice. Our Sales Executive, Jed, gave us a good deal and we were happy with his purchase and part-exchange quotes. We'll really miss the Yeti but looking forward to collecting our Karoq. But returning to the header, it's primarily because of the dealership that we didn't look for alternatives"

- Mr J, Whitby, North Yorkshire

June 19, "Staff were friendly and never overbearing to make a sale. I was given very sound advice and was given every opportunity to make a decision on the car I wanted not what the sales person wanted to sell me, which was very refreshing in comparison to other dealerships I had visited. I was made to feel very welcome and the staff all acted like one big family so will definitely buy again from the dealership."

- Mr & Mrs D, Brotton

June 2019, "An excellent place to purchase a car, I was very happy with my new Skoda fabia, everything explained very well and under no pressure to buy. I would highly recommend Derek Slack Motors"

- Mr W, Ugthorpe, Whitby

June 2019, "I just wanted to take the opportunity to say thank you. Over the last few days we have placed an unusually large volume of work your way, with all manner of unscheduled and scheduled work. We at fleet appreciate your team’s efforts in turning repairs around so quickly and returning vehicles back into service. You have demonstrated an awareness of our requirements in maintaining operational efficiency of our fleet vehicles and the affect it has when a large number go off the road with mechanical failure. Please pass our thanks on to your team for all of their efforts, we appreciate it"

- Dave, Major Fleet Customer

May 2019, "Very easy experience, staff not pushy or asking to many questions about what I want, genuinely pleasant and approachable with a good knowledge of cars"

- Mr G, Whitby

May 2019, "From first tentative steps to replacing our 13 year old car with a second hand Yeti, to our very specific set of requirements, we were made to feel like our needs were important and we had the vehicle we wanted at the right price in a very short space of time. Lots of useful information re controls etc. when picking up the car and a promise to answer any questions about the car and it's operation for as long as required. Good experience all round"

- Mrs W, Middlesbrough

May 2019, "Bought my gorgeous VW Polo here. Sales guys were great. Got a car that is and has been amazing. Once when I left the lights on and the battery went dead, they were right here and fixed my car 45 minutes later. Amazing. Very very happy. Highly recommend"

- Ms C, Great Ayton

May 2019, "Just bought a used Rapid from these guys, best customer service around, fantastic and very helpful staff could not do enough for me"

- Mrs H, Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea

April 2019, "I brought my Skoda Yeti to your dealership today for a service. This was my first trip to you as I usually use another dealership, but have found them to be, on occasion, less helpful than I would have hoped for. Your staff were, without exception a credit to your company. I look forward to using your dealership again in the future,"

- Mrs A, Fryup Whitby

April 2019, "I would like to express my gratitude to Jed for the professional service he has given to both my parents and I, regarding the purchase of a Skoda Citigo, Jed was extremely helpful and made the purchase very smooth for my parents, I would not hesitate to recommend Derek Slack Motors, Thank you very much"

- Mr H, Hartlepool

April 2019, "Hi Dale, I just wanted to say a big thank you for helping me buy a car for Niamh yesterday, She is over the moon with her new Citigo. I must reiterate my comments that this car buying experience was simply the best I have encountered. Your welcoming and knowledgeable approach were a refreshing change. I believe you are an asset to your team and a true brand ambassador – thanks again"

- Mrs A, Nunthorpe

April 2019, "All three of the Service Reception girls do a magnificent job of meeting, greeting and generally attending to your every need, but knowing Jess for a longer period of time, it is only fair to once again commend her on the high standards she continuously maintains over the time we have known her"

- Mr & Mrs S, Ingleby Barwick

March 2019, "This is the 3rd car that we have had from Derek Slack's and the service we have received is exemplary. We were allowed to view the vehicles on show and when we were ready we were approached by Thomas Ley (Car salesman) to talk more in depth of which vehicle I was interested in. Unlike other dealerships where staff jump on you straightaway Derek Slack staff stand back to give the customer time. The vehicle information that I asked was promptly given to me and Thomas could answer any query. His knowledge of the vehicles was fantastic. I would recommend this dealership to everybody who is wanting to change their vehicles whether for business or pleasure. I also spoke to Richard Goodyear (Car sales controller) and Tony Slack. Every member of staff will bend over backwards to assist any potential customer. Well done to the Derek Slack team"

- Mr & Mrs E, Middlesbrough

March 2019, "I have purchased 2 x Skoda vehicles now from the same dealership. Both times the service has been amazing 1000 % ! No hard sell just good old honest values , that make me happy to part with my money. Plus Skoda cars I believe are the best on the road. I have recommend the Cars and the dealership to many of my friends and work colleagues"

- Mr C, Hartlepool

March 19, "The staff at Derek Slack's were really helpful and friendly. They listened to my needs to choose a new car. I have driven Skoda's for years but this was the best service I have received in all those years. The staff made the buying process straight forward and gave me all the information I needed to make informed choice throughout. Highly recommended."          

- Mr T, Brompton on Swale

March 19, "Buying a used car from Derek Slack Motors has been a great experience. From the very first phone conversation we were given cheerful, friendly help. Consequently, we travelled from Cumbria to Middlesbrough to view a car. We were not disappointed, the staff were a pleasure to deal with, nothing was too much trouble for them. They definitely work as a team. We loved the car and returned the following week by rail to collect it and again received 1st class service. We highly recommend them and will definitely be using them again."

- Mr & Mrs A, Mary Port Cumbria

February 2019, "My wife and I recently visited a Derek slack motors for a routine 12 month service. Having bought our car from another Skoda dealer of which we feel the standard had dropped to what we were used to, we decided that we would change to Slacks for our first service. We were pleasantly surprised how pleasant everyone was with us the moment we walked through the door, completely different from what we had come to experience elsewhere. All the staff were courteous towards us and made the time to have a chat. With the service being completed and our car presented to us at the front door, having been washed ready for the visit home. In future when we are ready for changing our car Derek Slack Motors will be the first port of call. 10 out of 10 for courtesy and service. Please forward  my email to the manager at Skoda Head Office."

- Mr & Mrs B, Northallerton

January 2019, "Derek Slack Motors were very considerate in my needs as a customer. They took the time to establish what we wanted from the car, they didnt use a 'hard sell' in any way. Tom Ley, our Salesman was very helpful in finding the right car for our family, highly recommended"    

- Mr & Mrs M, Redcar

January 2019, "My initial contact was with Richard who was a cheerful and pleasant gentleman, who was not pushy or overbearing. I found him to be comfortable to have a light hearted conversation with, whilst discussing the more detailed aspects of car Purchase. The day I returned to put down a deposit (Richards day off) Andrew offered his services. My wife and I spent some 3-hours with Andrew who I found to be a charming, extremely helpful and knowledgeably gentleman. I have purchased a number of cars over the years but it is the first time a Sales Manager has devoted so much of his time to me. Thank you Andrew & Richard!"

- Mr & Mrs T, Hartlepool

January 2019, "I want to compliment Derek Slack Motors Ltd for the assistance I recently received when purchasing a replacement vehicle following a traffic accident which 'wrote off' our vehicle. From initial contact right through to delivery the service received was courteous, friendly and professional; whilst also sympathetic and understanding, without being condescending or patronising, for our situation. I could highlight specific individuals but every person I had contact with (including those with mops) was a credit to the Derek Slack brand. Whilst already a returning customer, I will definitely be returning in the future and also recommending Derek Slack Motors Ltd to all of my family, friends and associates. Many thanks to all of your staff for delivering a service that was 'above and beyond' anything that could be expected."

- Mr & Mrs L, Billingham

January 2019, "Just purchased a second hand Subaru from Derek Slack; first class customer orientated family business in sales and service"    

- Mr G, Brotton

December 2018, "We enjoyed buying our car from here. There was no pressure and no sense of desperation to make a sale. All of the team were friendly and helpful but gave us plenty of space to make our own decision. They have a huge range of cars to look at and a nice open showroom. Also it's easy to find and they have plenty of visitor parking."

- Mr & Mrs E, Redcar

December 2018, "From start to finish buying my Skoda Karoq was just brilliant. Done at the pace I wanted to go at. At no time did I feel pressurised to either make a decision or purchase something that I didn't want to. My requirements were quickly understood and the car I have ended up ticks all the boxes, including a great price."

- Mr S, Ripon, North Yorkshire

November 18, "Our family has been customers for over forty years - that should speak for itself. Unfailingly polite, patient personal service, great aftercare and quality products. We can't speak highly enough of this dealer"

- Avril J, Lake District

October 2018, "Thorough advice from professional, friendly & patient staff. Excellent after-sales. Have been a customer for 42 years, even though for nearly half of that time have not lived locally. Says all you need to know about the firm's quality of service".  

- Mr & Mrs J, Penrith, Cumbria

October 2018, "After trying to find the right car from the right dealer in my local area I travelled to Derek Slack in hope of finding the right car. I could not be more pleased with the customer service provided. I was provided all the time and information needed when choosing between cars and did not feel rushed or pressured at all. If you are after in depth knowledge and friendly service I would highly recommend going to Derek Slacks"

- Mr S, Wallsend, Tyne & Wear

October 2018, "Dear Tony, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the customer service, professionalism & commitment your whole team showed us during this service visit. We would like to thank particularly Natalie Buxton, Chris Harrison & the technician Paul Stephen, they all showed a refreshing attitude & commitment in ensuring our needs were catered for as well as re-assuring us about the works to be carried out. This is a letter of real thanks to a great team with a great attitude"

- Mr & Mrs J, North Yorkshire

October 2018, "The experience at Derek Slack Motors was ten out of ten, the staff were more like family than sales staff, the usual stress in buying a new car was not there for me, we met all the senior staff including the owner, Tony. We had a wonderful day and bought our new skoda. The sales manager Andy was fantastic even helping us to transfer my own personal parts to the new car. Good luck to you all At Derek Slack Motors, I traveled 100 miles to see this car and it was well worth it. I was treated with great respect. I will be back for my next car from yourselves, the service and hospitality at this garage was superb."

- Mr C, Workington, Cumbria

October 2018 "A BIG Thank you. On Monday 1 October 2018 whilst on a vacation trip, my Skoda Octavia signalled a problem with the tyres. It transpired to be a false alarm which your VERY helpful and friendly staff resolved on the spot, putting my mind at rest - and also supplied a cup of coffee! Truly great service which really is appreciated. Please feel free to forward this message to Skoda or use it for promotions, etc. Thank you once again."

- Mr R, Edinburgh

October 2018, "The whole experience was smooth, efficient and professional. From the first moment I entered the showroom till the moment I drove my new vehicle away I was treated in a friendly manner with every question asked answered to the full. A really excellent experience"

- Mr L, Billingham

October 2018 "Just picked up my new fabia this morning. I must say how well Jed has looked after me during the return of my old fabia and my new one today. He sorted all the figures and made sure I understood every step. It makes a difference and that is why I returned to Derek Slack Motors for a new car. Jed made sure all my phone was setup etc and showed me all the new modifications. I value good customer service and was treated with great respect all the time. This makes a huge difference when you are committing to a huge investment."

- Dr J, Stockton on Tees

September 18, "I have been driving for over 50 years, purchasing from private and main dealerships, this was the best experience to date. There was no hassle, all questions answered, everything I had pointed out on the car completed prior to collecting. I would recommend Derek Slack Motors, with special thanks to Phil in sales and Andrew the Sales manager."

- Mr B, Marske

August 18, "I have had a lot of cars over the years from differant dealers and I have to say Derek Slack are the best, most dealers dont want to know you once you have bought a car from them, but Derek Slack aftersales service is brilliant"

- Peter T, Middlesbrough

August 18, "Many thanks for the excellent and fast same day service in replacing my discs and brake pads. From phoning at 9am to explain the problem the job was completed by 11.15am, I am very grateful and impressed"

- Mr B, Acklam

August 2018, "Dear Chris, thank you for some outstanding service from your department yesterday. I telephoned your dealership yesterday morning as I had been let down by another Skoda Dealer as they were unable to fulfil an appointment that I had made with them to fit a Smartlink upgrade to one of our family cars, a Skoda Yeti. I telephoned and spoke to Lauren Millar who was extremely courteous and helpful on the telephone and despite me not having an appointment (or even being one of your regular customers) stated that she would speak to the technician who could carry out the upgrade. She quickly came back and stated that the technician did have appointments scheduled all day but that he would try and fit me in, if I was able to drop the car off. Lauren (who you wouldn’t know for a second that she is still training) was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and quickly booked me in. She made me aware that I may have a long wait but made sure I was comfortable and had refreshments. Whilst I did have a short wait, your colleagues enabled me to get the upgrade completed when I had been badly let down by another dealer and I have to say that I was extremely impressed by the quality of service offered. Despite living in another town, when I look to replace the two Skodas that we currently have I will most certainly be visiting your dealership to consider my next purchase"  

- Richard G, Darlington

August 18, "I came through yesterday after viewing another car elsewhere, spoke to Jed - great customer service, much better price than the other garage, so I decided to buy it. Can't go wrong with a years free warranty, getting the front sprayed over for chippings - pick it up friday morning. From what Jed was saying, you're an old school sort of company, which was a massive factor in my decision."

- Danny, Peterlee

August 2018, " My car purchase experience at Derek Slack Motors was wholly positive. I found the dealership to be well presented and professional whilst being welcoming. All the staff that I spoke with were courteous and helpful. Salesman Thomas Ley was particularly patient when I changed my mind several times on the specification of the car that I wanted. Nothing was too much trouble and I got the car that I wanted. What a breath of fresh air; no pushy salespeople and a relaxed but professional approach. I felt valued as a customer during all interactions ; face to face, on the telephone and email. I would highly recommend this dealership and I intend to be a returning customer in the future. Thank you"

- Martyn H, Nunthorpe

August 2018, "Quick response to book in for the MOT, which was overdue. MOT test, required remedial work and re-test were all done in a day. The mechanic stayed back over time to complete the job. Excellent service throughout"

- Mr D, Teesside

July 2018, "Great service. I had an unexpected noise from brakes. It was fixed as promised, staff friendly and helpful. Kept up to date by mechanic on progress of job"

- Mr D, Stockton

July 2018, "Jess and Lauren were very helpful, throughout from the booking to picking up the car. They always had a smile on there face and you could definitely see that they want what's best for the customer. With LAUREN being fairly new and when not sure , JESS guided her through to make sure of best customer service. A big thank you to these two young ladies"

- Mr S, North Yorks

July 2018, "New car for my business. Absolutely brilliant, totally first class service from start to finish. So glad I went to Derek Slack, I’m absolutely delighted with my car"

- Kevin H

June 2018, "Car sales as it should be. I highly recommend Derek Slack Skoda, their staff are friendly & very knowledgable. They go that extra mile to ensure everything is as you expect and more."

- Marc H

June 2018 - We received excellent and friendly service from the first phone call. I have never had a pleasant experience buying a car previously and have always felt on edge in the showroom. The staff at Derek Slack Motors are genuine, friendly and knowledgeable about their cars. After sales follow ups were appreciated and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them .

- Mrs H, Leeds

June 2018 - We are repeat customers of Derek Slack Motors. Their customer service is second to none. You get a more personal service compared to other garages we visited. We didn't get hassled on the forecourt but staff were there immediately when we needed them. First class service.

- Mrs F, Redcar

April 2018- What could have been an incredibly awkward and difficult situation to resolve was managed in a professional, friendly way and to be honest, has proved to be the best new car buying experience I have ever had.  Jed answered all of my calls and e-mails (no matter how annoying I must have been!) with speed, efficiency and good humour. He must have spent a good twenty minutes today showing my wife and I all the features of the car. As we returned to Tynemouth we decided that should we know anyone looking to buy a Skoda we would direct them to yourselves as your service has been that good. We look forward to dealing with you again in the future.

- Mr & Mrs S, Tynemouth

March 18, "Dear Chris, I received a follow up message last night requesting feedback from yesterday. I was only in for a Winter Check but also had a puncture. The treatment I received was absolutely excellent, the Service Advisor, Jess was friendly, pleasant and attentive, thank you very much."

- Mr T, Stockton on Tees

March 2018, "Dear Mr Calvert, thank you very much for arranging the resolution of my airbag light problem. I appreciate very much your help in sorting out this matter. What a very impressive dealership Derek Slack Motors is - it oozes professionalism in every respect. Thank you for the conducted tour, Best wishes."

- Mr & Mrs B, North Yorkshire

March 2018, "Please, can I just say  I have had nothing but exceptional care and attention over the years and superb customer service from all your staff, in the many years I have attended your premises."

- Mr R, Middlesbrough

March 18, “You will recall that we picked up the Superb Laurin & Klement Estate from you last week. It was a pleasure to deal with the manager Andrew and Christian and the experience has restored our faith in motor sales people. We have since been to Aberystwyth and back to Lincolnshire in it and in doing so given it a very good test drive. We are very pleased with the car, comfortable and very good to drive. Thank you to you all”

- Mr & Mrs P, Lincolnshire

February 2018, "Hi Christian, I just wanted to say thanks for helping me pick the Rapid. I'm over the moon with it. What a great experience, maybe a Kodiaq next time ( I had a look round one this morning). The reason I choose Derek Slack Motors is the quality sales, service, ethos and attitude that all other main dealers completely lack, its safe to say I'm now a Skoda convert!"

- Mr C, Peterlee

December 17, "I have just been in with my Fabia for a visual health check and was dealt with by Natalie. I would just like to commend her on her all round customer service which was excellent and she was most helpful, informative and friendly. I would be grateful if you could thank her and pass my commendation on to her"

- Miss B, Norton

November 17, "Over the last couple of days I have reason to visit two Skoda dealerships with the service received being from one end of the spectrum to the other! My first visit was to a national dealer group where the service received was at best disappointing and at worst inept! Following this experience I called your dealership and spoke with Graeme, giving him the faults and symptons, at which point he came up with a possible cause and potential fix. Two hours later I arrived with yourselves and a part was organised waiting to be fitted. Unfortunately the part was one of a choice of two and was incorrect, however a part was duly sourced and fitted to my Octavia and the problem was fixed. I cannot express strongly enough my gratitude for your efforts in resolving the problem in the timescale required. I would be grateful if you could pass on my appreciation to Graeme for his help and expertise. The service I have received goes above and beyond what I have come to expect from main dealers in recent times. I am sure the level of service you offer will help your business to continue to grow and further prosper".

- Mr L, Richmond

November 17, "I would like to thank Christian Lovell for the purchase of the Peugeot 208 GTi, everything was perfect with the sale. Christian was warm, friendly and all was dealt with smoothly and quickly, I actually bought and collected the car on the same day. Sincere thanks."

- Mr B, Washington, Tyne and Wear

Superb customer service, excellent choice of cars, not at all pushy, Derek Slack Motors look for solutions not problems. From sales staff to business to service, everything was top notch. None of the snooty attitude you sometimes see from so called up market brands and yet these modern Skodas are as well constructed as any car I have owned - including Porsche BMW Audi and Mercedes. Great dealership and product speaks for itself.

- Mr G, Osmotherley

This is the second Skoda I have purchased from Derek Slack Motors Ltd. The first being for my wife, but this is the first time I have bought my main vehicle from Slacks. I have been 100% satisfied with the service and attitude from them up to date. Absolutely no complaints. I purchased a Skoda Kodiak Edition TDi 190 4 x 4 7 seater in Petrol Blue. On collection of the vehicle at the end of August 2017 it was handed over with every detail fully explained and was in pristine condition. 6 days later we were on our way to France for 4 weeks. During that time the car drove beautifully and considering I used to be a Mercedes fan I am so well pleased with my purchase. Thank you.

- Mr & Mrs T, Darlington

September 17' "This is the third car I have purchased from you. The service I have received is always of the highest standard, the staff have vast knowlege and are always able to answer my questions. I called in yesterday, as I couldn't work out the new gadgets! Calum Peel  came to my rescue, going the extra mile and giving me his own phone cable so I could access my sat nav.. I'm SO pleased with the service I always receive"

- Mrs S, Billingham

August '17, "I just bought my second car from Derek Slack. Can’t recommend them highly enough. From the first evaluation over the phone, to the personal contact a few days later. Jed Thirkell is absolutely smashing and nothing was too much. I shall be picking my new car up in a few days time and am looking forward to the highly rated ‘after service’. If I am ever in the business of another car, it will definitely be from Derek Slack."

- Mr T, Saltburn by the Sea

August 17, "Many thanks to Callum for his help and patience in my purchase of a Kodiak. I'm really pleased with the vehicle and more than pleased overall with the input of Derek Slack Motors. It's nice to deal with a proper down to earth company for a change. So my son and I are off to France on Tuesday and thanks to you in a rather lovely 4x4 Skoda. Thankyou so much and hope to see you when I get back at the end of September"

- Mr T, Darlington

August 17, "A big thanks to Callum for allowing us a lengthy test drive and really scrutinise the Freelander. The car is absolutely perfect. Derek Slack Motors takes away the risk of buying used cars. Highly Recommend"

- Mr H, Blackhall Colliery

July 17, "Dear Mr Slack, as a Motability customer I would like to say how much I appreciate the truly excellent all round help and service I recieved this year regarding my second Yeti from you"

- Mr & Mrs R, Pickering

July 17, "The service I have received at your garage is second to none, thank you for the letter regarding my service"

- Mrs H, North Yorkshire

July 17, "Easy to get to. Welcoming. Comfortable waiting area with welcome drinks machine. Staff welcoming and efficient. Attended to us at our appointment time. We were told it would 1/2 an hour and the y were bang on time."  

- Mrs M, Hartlepool

May 17, "Brilliant service! Christian was very friendly and helpful, everything taken care of quickly with no hassle at all, great buying experience, thank you"

- Mr C, Selby

May 17, "Just a brilliant company to deal with, this was a return visit after buying my last car from them five years ago. Look out for Callum in the sales team, he's helpful, excellent and didnt pressurize me"

- Mr W, Guisborough

April 17, "Between My wife and I , we have had 12 Skoda's from the Fabia to the Yeti, our latest is the Kodiaq, its the best Skoda we have ever had.  Thanks to Tony, we will have many miles of enjoyment , so thanks Tony and all the staff at Derek Slack Motors."  

- Mr & Mrs G, Redcar

April 17, "I am writing to convey my great appreciation of your Sales Executive, Callum Peel. We were very impressed by his helpfulness and support during our car transactions, he was courteous and business like and so helpful in guiding us through the sale of our new vehicle with follow-up advice in dealing with the DVLA."      

- Mr. M, Guisborough

April 2017, "Many many thanks to all at Derek Slack Motors who sorted out my Yeti 1.2 DSG  following the recent failure of its mechatronic unit and kept me mobile with a loan car, Many Thanks, appreciated"  

- Mr K, Eaglescliffe

March 2017 "Dear Tony, It was a pleasure to meet you yesterday, what a great set up you have there! Thank you for looking after me so well yesterday and also for the unexpected goodies in the Skoda bag on the back seat, most appreciated"

- Mr. S, Barnard Castle

January 2017 "Thank you for the excellent service when I bought my car in for health check today.  Everyone was most helpful and the hot coffee was much appreciated on a cold day like today. The two girls I saw in the showroom were very pleasant and helpful.  Many thanks also to Shaun the technician. Thank you everyone concerned you are a credit to Derek Slack Motors."

- Mr. A, Middlesbrough

February 2017 "Dear Christian, thank you for the way you helped me throughtout the buying of my car. You were very pleasant, extremely helpful & nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend you & Skoda to any of my friends & family"  

- Mr G, Middlesbrough

January 2017 "Dear Neil, thanks for sending me the video of my car being repaired, I think that this is a brilliant idea it lets you see exactly what is wrong with the vehicle"  

- Mr T, Guisborough

January 2017 "I would like to thank your team from the General Manager Gary Snaith to the sales person Stephen Pullen for the way they handled the purchase of my new Skoda Octavia: I would especially like to single out Stephen Pullen who is a worthy member of your team"

- Mr Q, North Yorkshire

December 2016 "Having been a customer of Slacks for nearly four years, I have no hesitation in commenting on the staff there whose levels of service and customer care are examples for others elsewhere to follow. I have always felt welcome there and been greeted with smiles and handshakes. I recently changed my Octavia VRS for a new model and the whole process was handled in a very professional manner from start to finish. Tony can feel proud of the team"  

- Mr M, Bradford

November 2016 "Friendly knowledgeable staff who take care to get the job right". 

- Mr H, Thornaby

December 2016 "My service was carried out along with the MOT and all of the staff made my wait feel like a short time"

- Mr N, Stockton-on-Tees

September 2016 “My car was in last friday to have several issues sorted and ALL is fine. The car is a pleasure to drive . Please thank yourself, Neil on service desk and your EXCELLENT technician Nathan, ( tall, dark, dark features) . Very knowledgeable  Octavia guy. A real joy!! I could have talked to him for hours!”

- Mr A, Middlesbrough

September 2016 “I recently booked my car in for an MOT, but unfortunately forgot  to bring it on the due date! Will you please pass on my sincere thanks to your staff for getting me out of this mess. I needed the test doing quickly as I am shortly going on holiday. They not only rearranged the test but also were very helpful in transporting me and my car to my house. Excellent service!”

- Mr R, Middlesbrough

July 2016 “Hi Jess, Just wanted to say thank you for your help the other day when our car was in for service.  Its not always easy with a child complete with wheelchair, car seat and a large bag of medicines to organise having the car in the garage.  Your help in swapping  things to the courtesy car and back again was very much appreciated and as always the standard of service from the rest of the team was spot on.  Thanks to everyone we made it back to Scarborough hospital in plenty of time!”

- Mrs M, Whitby

April 2016 “I have been coming here for years and I have purchased several cars. I know the salesperson (Phil Cross) very well and I trust him implicitly. He knows what kind of car I need and he always gives me the best deal. I feel like a VIP when I am there. All the staff there are just fab. Great team.”

- Mrs H, Ingelby Barwick

March 2016 “Hi Phil, thanks for the very professional way you handled my purchase today, you listened,  gave sound advice and produced a great deal,  one which I'm very happy with.”

- Mr N, Stockton

March 2016 “We wouldlike to make particular mention of the excellent service provided by Neil Rimmington during the past three years & commend him for his courteous & helpful attention at all times.”

- Mr & Mrs S, Guisborough

March 2016  “I want to thank you for the excellent support and work done to my Yeti, you are an excellent team and did everything possible to ensure I was a happy customer and I am!”

- Mr T, Guisborough

February 2016  “I would like to bring to your attention how very helpful Mr Mark Calvert has been while my car was having paintwork carried out under warranty.  He was a real credit, and may I say an asset, to your firm.”

- Mr B, Kirbymoorside

February 2016 “I am retired from the motor trade so am highly aware of the industry practices. At no time did I feel pressurised into committing to any contractual agreement that I did not understand, it was a pleasure to negotiate a purchase under such circumstances. Please pass on my heartfelt thanks to your staff regarding their professionalism.”

- Mr L, Marton in Cleveland

December 2015  “Hi Mark, Received car yesterday, delighted with process from start to finish! Sincere thanks for a super experience.”

- Mr L, West Dunbartonshire, Scotland

September 2015 “Dear Tony, I'd just like to say how delighted we are with our new Skoda Octavia Scout (we picked it up this afternoon) and the deal you gave us. A fantastic, personal, very efficient and stress-free buying experience from yourself, Phil Cross and no doubt many others in the "Derek Slack Team". Excellent service once again - we'll keep on recommending you, and we can't wait to buy the next one!”

- Mr & Mrs L, North Yorkshire

September 2015 “Dear Andy, sometimes garages treat women buyers not seriously. That certainly wasn’t the case with Derek Slacks, also customer service isn’t just about politeness & courteousness, it’s about dealing with little problems which you did greatly. Thank you, I will certainly recommend you & Derek Slacks.”

- Mrs S, Yarm

August 2015 “Andy McCarthy was friendly, professional & extremely helpful, I was blown away with the service he gave me. I will continue to recommend your dealership to family & friends. Exceptional service.”

- Miss C, Billingham

July 2015 “My daughter & I have just taken delivery of two Octavia vRS’s. I just wanted to bring to your attention the superb service we received from Mark Hall, simply nothing was too much trouble & he made the whole process as simple as possible. No doubt we will both be back in three years for new vRS’s as this is my fourth!”

- Mr P, Northallerton

July 2015 “I purchased my first SKODA Fabia in March and I was very happy with the salesman, Phil Cross and the deal. Five star service all the way”

- Mr P, Middlesbrough

June 2015 “This is our fourth car with Derek Slack Motors and we have had no problems with any of them, which is why we always go back.”

- Mr M, Middlesbrough

May 2015 “May I offer my appreciation for the attention I & my Superb Laurin & Klement were afforded during the correction of its faulty fuel gauge. Your service is greatly appreciated.”

- Mr N, Billingham

June 2015 “My new Citigo is lovely, thanks for all your help, I know this was probably a small deal to you, but it was a big deal to me.”

- Mrs B, Solihull, Birmingham

April 2015 “ We would just like to say thank you for excellent service once again from your company.  My husband and I have used you on several occasions and cannot fault the service we receive. We think all companies need to take a leaf out of your book and work the way you do.”

- Mr & Mrs B, Houghton-le-Spring

January 2015 “I have today given up driving & returned my Fabia back to you. It's obviously quite a stressful occasion & I want to express my appreciation toall concerned for the courtesy shown to me. When one buys a car, one also 'buys' a garage. I have never regretted either part of the transaction! Thanks & good luck."

- Mr. D, Stockton-on-Tees

October 2014 "I'd like to thank Neil on reception, & the service department in general, who not only carried out a winter safety check on my 2009 Fabia, but also cured an oil leak which had been causing me great concern.  The friendly attitude, & warm atmosphere at Derek Slacks has always made it worth the long journey each time we've needed help or routine service from you.  Scarborough will soon have a new Skoda franchise, but I fully intend to carry on dealing with you.  Many thanks."  

- Mr. D, Scarborough

June 2014 "Very personal - made to feel welcome."

- Mr. H, County Durham

June 2014 "Very pleasant. Always an answer for any queries I raised."

- Mr. H, North Yorkshire

December 2013 "My third SKODA Fabia from Derek Slack Motors. It's the small attention to detail that for me, make such a big difference."

- Mr. K, Stockton-on-Tees

June 2013 "Good knowledge, friendly and easy to deal with Jed."

- Mr. W, Cleveland

June 2013 "Very positive. All the staff were helpful and knowledgeable."

- Mr. H, County Durham

June 2013 "Friendly, knowledgeable, easy to get hold of salesman whenever I needed to contact, very helpful."

- Miss. S, North Yorkshire

April 2013 - Sales Experience "I would never buy a car from a salesman I did not establish a working relationship with. Jed Thirkell was a most polite and knowledgeable salesman. He was patient and did not push me into a sale."

- Mr. H, North Yorkshire

January 2013 "This is my second SKODA from Derek Slack Motors and I would recommend to anyone looking for polite, friendly staff."

- Mrs. E, Stockton-on-Tees

June 2013 “I recently visited your salesroom and wanted tell you how impressed I was with Ted Gowler. He was professional & courteous. He listened carefully to my questions, answered them fully and made it obvious that he was there to guide me through the process of looking at Skoda cars. This is the first time I have written a letter such as this, but thought you might appreciate some feedback on one of your staff who made looking for a new car an informative & pleasurable experience, which, unfortunately can’t be said of some sales people I have met whilst going round other car sale rooms.”

- Mrs. A, Acklam

July 2012 “I have received a letter from Skoda asking me to comment on my opinion of the service at Derek Slack Motors. I have no computer so I thought I would comment directly to you. Since I bought my Fabia from you I have been very satisfied by the work you have done for me and by the friendly and helpful attitude of your staff.”

- Mr. D, Stockton on Tees

August 2011 “My vehicle was brought to you after a breakdown on a visit to the north-east. I am absolutely delighted with the service I received, from the initial friendly booking in on the Saturday to the subsequent diagnosis from service department, the whole process was friendly and professional. Thank you so much for such an effective professional response to my breakdown. Derek slack has people who know what they’re doing.”

- Mr. K, North Devon

October 2008 “A big thank you to all at Derek Slack Motors, especially to salesman Jed. It is a long time since buying a car has been such a pleasure from start to finish. Jed gave us all the information we needed, was especially helpful and considerate, with nothing too much trouble. The best part was his no pressure approach, which actually was the deal clincher. He is a credit to the company.”

- Mrs. A, Richmond

January 2007 “The after sales service at your dealership is the best in the world. I have bought two cars from your dealership a Fabia 1 .2 and a Fabia vRS, all staff are very helpful and kind they also give a service to the public that you don’t get anywhere else in the UK.”

- Mrs. S, Durham

August 2006 “I have had dealings with Derek Slack Motors for a very long time and have found all his staff to be most professional and knowledgeable about Skoda’s products and 

- Mr. & Mrs. D, Marton

May 2005 “I have been having my family's vehicles serviced at your garage for a number of years now. The reason for continuing to use your garage is the excellent level of service, which you provide. Whilst I am no longer surprised at the level of service I receive the treatment experience today even exceeded the norm. Having been transported home after dropping off my wife's car I was expecting the usual phone call when the necessary work was completed to arrange to return to your garage to collect the car. However when the garage phoned it was to say that the car was been returned to me rather than having to be collected. I think this level of service can only be described as exceptional and certainly exceeds the industry norm.”

- Mr. S, Linthorpe

January 2003 “Thank you for taking the trouble to contact me yesterday, it indicated a level of service which reflected the standards which persuaded me to have my previous vehicle serviced with your company. My wife is absolutely delighted and satisfied with her new Skoda.”

- Dr. S, Yarm

January 2003 “Thank you for taking the trouble to contact me yesterday, it indicated a level of service which reflected the standards which persuaded me to have my previous vehicle serviced with your company. My wife is absolutely delighted and satisfied with her new Skoda.”

- Mr. P, Marton